Kimberly Lovegrove

Who is Kimberly? Does anyone really know themselves? I may come across as someone who has it all figured out but I certainly do not. Half the time im winging it just going with the flow.

A lot has happen in my life since I turned 10. I lost my father. This period of my life that was filled with so much grief and mourning that it was almost unbearable, if it wasn’t for my family it would have been a lot more harder to cope with the passing of my father. I moved out of home when I was 15. I managed that pretty well, as well as finishing high school.

In 2012 I received the City of Unley Young Citizen of the Year award for my constant support in the community and my passion to make a difference.

When I was younger all I knew was that I want to make history and baby have I did just that? I was the first indigenous awardee for the young citizen of the year, the South Australian finalist for girlfriend of the year in 2011, the only aboriginal participant in 2011 for Youth Parliament in South Australia.

I really have not had any accomplishments like that in Victoria except being the only indigenous women to study a diploma of business in public relations.

My dream is to one day work for Scooter Braun or be CEO of Island Records in New York. I know this a big dream. My favourite saying is ‘dream big or go home’.

If I could offer any advice to anyone who may be facing what I have faced I want to tell you…don’t for a second give up. Many people have asked me why I did not give up, would it have been easier. Maybe but im not a person who gives up so easily. I stay and fight until I can’t fight anymore and im practically on my death bed. Once I have that dream stuck in my head, I can not stop until I have reached it. So do not ever give up because when one door closes another will definitely open. 

Leave a comment